INSIGHT · LABOUR & TRADES
Qualified is not the same quantity
as available.
The Advanced Entry Trades Training (AETT) program, launched in New South Wales on 5 September 2026, is a $78 million, three-year federal program for experienced residential housing and civil construction workers to gain nationally recognised qualifications through recognition of prior learning and gap training. The NSW release says up to 6,000 workers and a run to 30 June 2028. Participants need at least three years of experience and, on the department's page, current or recent work in the industry. It is built to change how many existing workers hold a qualification. Its published criteria do not admit new entrants.

Analysed 28 September 2026 · NSW ministerial release of 5 September 2026 · Department of Employment and Workplace Relations program page, last modified 14 September 2026 · Federation Funding Agreement schedule for the program (agreement start 26 August 2026) · all pages read 28 September 2026.
Key takeaways
- The program is funded and dated: The Australian Government is investing $78 million over three years. The NSW release states the program will "run until 30 June 2028", with "enrolments expected to open from late 2026". The department's page states it "was launched on 5 September 2026 in New South Wales".
- It works on people already in the industry: The department's page requires at least three years of relevant industry experience and that participants be "currently working residential housing and civil construction or have worked in that industry in the preceding two years". Current or recent apprentices and trainees are not eligible.
- The three publications do not say exactly the same thing: The release says "up to 6,000"; the department's page says 6,000. The release names carpentry among its occupation areas; the department's page says qualifications linked to a mandatory apprenticeship pathway or occupational licensing are excluded, while the funding schedule's list includes Certificate III in Carpentry.
- A qualification is not a licence: By the department's own description, the program excludes qualifications "linked to occupational licensing". A schedule constraint that is really a licence constraint is a different constraint from a qualification one.
- We would give every crew constraint a reason code: Our system-design recommendation: record why a trade activity cannot start as sequence, headcount, qualification or licence. Only one of those four is the subject of this program, and a single "crew available" field cannot tell them apart.
What was published, and where
Three official publications describe the program. The NSW release announced it; the Department of Employment and Workplace Relations (DEWR) page describes national settings; the Federation Funding Agreement schedule sets the funding terms between the Commonwealth and the states and territories.
| Parameter | NSW release, 5 September 2026 | DEWR page, last modified 14 September 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Funding | $78 million over three years | $78 million over three years |
| Participants | "up to 6,000 experienced trade workers" | "6,000 experienced workers" |
| Experience | "at least three years of experience" | At least three years of relevant industry experience, including at least 12 months on Australian worksites |
| Other conditions | "Australian workers" | Citizenship or permanent residency; current work in the industry or work in the preceding two years; current or recent apprentices, trainees and those in school excluded |
| Qualifications | Areas "such as carpentry, rigging, crane operations, tiling, surveying, construction design and site management" | Certificate level III or higher, "excluding those typically part of a mandatory apprenticeship pathway or linked to occupational licensing" |
| Method | Recognition of prior learning (RPL) then gap training, by TAFEs and other Registered Training Organisations (RTOs) | RPL with gap training; states and territories endorse RTOs and choose available qualifications |
| Cost to participant | Free | "at no cost to participants" |
| Timing | "enrolments expected to open from late 2026"; "run until 30 June 2028" | Launched 5 September 2026 in NSW; other states and territories "following formal agreement"; no end date stated |
Where the publications differ
- Up to 6,000, or 6,000: The release describes a ceiling ("up to 6,000"); the department's page states the figure without the qualifier. The funding schedule we read allocates dollars by state and counts "Program Commencements" but does not state 6,000.
- Carpentry and the licensing exclusion: The release names carpentry as an area. The department's page says the program offers qualifications excluding those "typically part of a mandatory apprenticeship pathway or linked to occupational licensing". The funding schedule states that exclusion as a principle for adding qualifications, and its Appendix 1 list of 64 qualifications includes "Certificate III in Carpentry". The schedule also lets each state "deliver or stop delivering any Qualifications in Scope as required without Commonwealth approval". None of the three says whether Certificate III in Carpentry falls within that exclusion, and we do not decide it.
- Eligibility wording: The release says "Australian workers with at least three years of experience". The department's page and the funding schedule add conditions the release does not state, including time on Australian worksites, recent industry work and the apprentice and trainee exclusion.
- Timing and the end date: The release expects enrolments "from late 2026" and a run to 30 June 2028. The department's page gives a launch date in NSW, states other launches follow formal agreement, and gives no end date. The schedule's eligibility definition includes being capable of achieving three units of competency "through RPL by 30 June 2028", and the schedule itself "is expected to expire on 30 September 2028".
Two quantities in one field
A construction programme usually holds one field for a trade: whether the crew is available. That field carries two different quantities. One is how many people hold the qualification a class of work calls for. The other is how many people are there to do the work at all. The program's eligibility rules place it in the first. Its participants are, by definition, experienced people currently or recently working in the industry. Converting experience into a qualification changes what the existing workforce holds on paper; it does not, by design, change how many people there are.
- Qualified capacity: How many people hold a given qualification. This is the quantity the program is built to move. The release says RPL and gap training "can fast track the time needed to complete qualifications to a matter of months rather than years".
- Headcount capacity: How many people are available to work. Recognition of prior learning does not change it: the participant was already counted, or was counted within the last two years.
Four reasons an activity does not start
When a trade activity slips, the stated reason is usually "no crew". Underneath it sit at least four different constraints, with different levers. The program's published scope touches one of them and, by the department's description, excludes another.
| Constraint | What it means on site | Where this program sits |
|---|---|---|
| Sequence | The crew is there and able, but the preceding activity has not released the work face | Not relevant: a logic problem, not a labour one |
| Headcount | Not enough people for the volume of work in the window | Not addressed: participants are already in, or recently in, the industry |
| Qualification | Experienced people are on hand, but the work or the client calls for a formal qualification | The program's subject, within the qualifications each state delivers |
| Licence | The work needs a person holding an occupational licence to do or certify it | Excluded by the department's description of the program |
The distinction exists in people's heads,
not in the schedule.
The difficulty is that the distinction is known and not recorded. Ask a portfolio question - across our current programmes, how many crew constraints are qualification constraints, and how many are licence constraints? - and a system that holds only availability can answer it only by ringing the site managers. If the answer is a meaningful share, a funded program with a published end date speaks to part of it. If the answer is close to zero, the program is background information for that programme. Either answer is useful. Neither is available from a field that says only "crew unavailable".
What we would put in a system
Scheduling and labour records are where the quantities have to stop being one field. We would test for four things.
Where agents help is narrow. An agent can extract a program's published terms from the release, the department page and the funding schedule into a dated source record, flag when any of those pages changes, and propose a reason code for a slipped activity from the site diary for a person to confirm. No agent assesses anyone's eligibility for any program, contacts or enrols anyone, or decides what a qualification or licence permits.
| Field | Why it is load-bearing |
|---|---|
| Constraint reason code on every crew constraint | Sequence, headcount, qualification, licence or not yet classified. Enumerated, not free text, so the portfolio question becomes a query. "Not yet classified" is itself countable. |
| Qualification held, per person, dated | Qualification title, issuing organisation and date, in the labour record. A crew-level yes or no cannot express "this crew can do the work but nobody in it holds the qualification". |
| Licence held, per person, with class and expiry | Kept separate from qualifications, because the program's own description treats them separately and a licence has its own issuer and expiry. |
| External program terms as a dated source record | Each parameter with the publication it came from and the date it was read, so a change to any of the three publications is visible rather than remembered. |
- Scheduling & Coordination: Where the constraint reason code sits on each activity.
- Materials & Labour: Holds qualifications and licences per person, with dates.
- Scheduling Agent: Proposes a reason code from the site record; a person confirms.
- Trades: How we work with specialist trade contractors.
- A 4.75% award increase, and a start date set by each payroll: The July 2026 award increase, and why a labour rate in a quote needs its own effective-from date.
Questions worth asking
of your own programme
For a builder: of the last five activities that slipped on labour grounds, which were sequence, headcount, qualification or licence?
If answering means reconstructing from memory, the portfolio version of the question cannot currently be answered from your records. That is the finding.
For a project or development manager: does your programme distinguish "no crew" from "no one qualified" from "no licence holder"?
The three have different levers. A programme that records only availability will attribute every one of them to labour supply.
For a trade contractor: is each person's qualification and licence recorded with its issuer and date, or is it known informally?
A head contractor asking who can do or certify a class of work needs a record that separates the two. The program's own description treats qualifications and occupational licences as different things.
For a multi-entity group: where do you store the terms of an external program your people may be affected by?
Here, three official publications give slightly different parameters. A record that keeps each parameter with its source and read-date shows which one a decision relied on.
What this analysis
does and does not show.
Evidence note
- What it shows
- That the AETT program, as published, converts the experience of people currently or recently working in residential housing and civil construction into qualifications, and excludes qualifications linked to occupational licensing on the department's description; so it acts on qualified capacity, not headcount, and a schedule needs to record which constraint is binding. As read on 28 September 2026 from the NSW release, the DEWR program page and the Federation Funding Agreement schedule.
- Key facts quoted
- $78 million over three years; up to 6,000 (release) or 6,000 (DEWR) experienced workers; at least three years of experience; launched in NSW 5 September 2026; enrolments expected from late 2026; run until 30 June 2028 (release); schedule expected to expire 30 September 2028; RPL plus gap training by TAFEs and other RTOs; qualifications linked to mandatory apprenticeship or occupational licensing excluded (DEWR); 64 qualifications in the schedule's Appendix 1.
- The three publications differ on the participant figure, eligibility detail and the end date. On carpentry they are placed side by side, not reconciled: no source says whether Certificate III in Carpentry is a licensing-linked qualification.
- The contrast between "months" and "years" is the release's own wording, not a measured lead time.
- Delivery is by state and territory, which endorse training organisations and choose which qualifications to deliver. Delivery arrangements outside NSW were not published on the pages we read.
- Nothing here assesses any person's eligibility for the program or advises anyone to enrol. Eligibility is a matter for the program administrators and the delivering training organisation.
- This is general information, not training, employment or legal advice, and it covers no migration or visa matter.
What to watch next
These are the dates the publishers have themselves stated.
- Late 2026: Enrolments "expected to open from late 2026", per the NSW release of 5 September 2026.
- Launches outside NSW: The DEWR page states that launch in other states and territories "will occur following formal agreement". No dates are given.
- 30 June 2028: The end of the program's run, per the NSW release, and the date by which the funding schedule's eligibility definition refers to achieving units of competency through RPL.
- 30 September 2028: The date the funding schedule is expected to expire, or later on assessment of final reporting and payments.
Bring us one programme where a trade was the critical path.
Tell us the trade, the dates, and what the planner recorded as the reason it could not move. We will walk through whether that reason resolves into sequence, headcount, qualification or licence, and what a record would have needed to show it.
This article is general information about a publicly announced program and how scheduling constraints are recorded. It is not training, employment or legal advice, it does not assess anyone's eligibility for any program, and it contains no forecast. It describes a national program as launched in NSW. All parameters are as published and read on 28 September 2026; program terms can change, so confirm them with the program administrators.
Sources
Suggested citation: NSW Government ministerial release of 5 September 2026, DEWR Advanced Entry Trades Training program page (last modified 14 September 2026) and the Advanced Entry Trades Training Federation Funding Agreement schedule, as read 28 September 2026. The count of 64 qualifications is our count of the numbered list in the schedule's Appendix 1; no other figure is derived.
- NSW Government - Thousands of construction workers to get free qualifications under new national program: Published 5 September 2026 · read 28 September 2026 · Ministerial media release
- Department of Employment and Workplace Relations - Advanced Entry Trades Training program: Last modified 14 September 2026 · read 28 September 2026 · Government program page
- Federal Financial Relations - Advanced Entry Trades Training: Agreement start 26 August 2026, end 30 September 2028 · read 28 September 2026 · Federation Funding Agreement register entry
- Federal Financial Relations - Advanced Entry Trades Training Schedule: Undated schedule (2026-09 file path) · read 28 September 2026 · Federation Funding Agreement schedule (PDF)